Department Staff

  • Photo
    Kristie Alberty
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    kalberty@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Valerie Bambauer
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    vbambauer@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Leah Boczek
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    lboczek@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Peri Brabenec
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    pbrabenec@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Ann Carl
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    acarl@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Haley Collis
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    hcollis@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Rachael Delfing
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    rdelfing@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Holly Gross
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist Transition to Work
    hgross@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Cassandra Jaeger
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    cjaeger@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Lora Kluk
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    lkluk@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Carolyn Kozie
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    ckozie@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Jessica McClure
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    jmcclure@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Jack Mizener
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    jmizener@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Nicholas Poole
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    npoole@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Ashley Shaffer
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    ashaffer@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    David Telischak
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    dtelischak@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Laura Thrams
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    lthrams@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Marilou Weidus
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    mweidus@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

    Photo
    Erin Williams
    Brunswick High School
    Intervention Specialist
    ewilliams@bcsoh.org
     
     
     Email        Website

Course Offerings


  • Students with disabilities are eligible for special education programs and related services.Eligibility is determined by a team of educators, following an individual evaluation of the student, at an IEP meeting. An IEP, or Individualized Education Program, is developed for each eligible student. The program may include any combination of courses in the regular, vocational or special education programs.

     

    Special education restructuring efforts throughoutOhioand the nation have emphasized the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA, P.L. 101-476), clear preference for educating children with disabilities alongside their non-disabled peers to the maximum extent appropriate. Consequently, special education programming atBrunswickHigh Schoolis determined by each disabled child's unique needs rather than a disability label. Unlike special education programming of the past students with different disability labels, but similar educational needs may receive instruction in the same "room" or location--and often times with non-disabled peers.

     

    Brunswick High School may serve students with any of the following disabilities: autistic, deaf-blind, deaf, hearing impaired, mentally retarded (developmentally handicapped), multiply-handicapped, orthopedically handicapped, other health impaired, seriously emotionally disturbed (severe behavior handicapped), specific learning disabled, speech/language impaired, visually impaired/blind, and traumatic brain-injured.

     

    Depending on the unique educational needs of each disabled student, the special education delivery options available to them atBrunswickHigh Schoolinclude:

     

    INCLUSION INSTRUCTION IN

    REGULAR EDUCATION CLASSES

     

    In order to integrate disabled students into the regular classroom, both the regular and special education teachers use a variety of instructional strategies such as cooperative learning, use of study guides and increased individualized attention to provide a positive educational setting for all students.

     

    SUPPLEMENTAL SERVICES TEACHER (SST)

    Prerequisite: IEP Meeting

    The SST shall provide supplemental aids and services necessary to enable a disabled child to receive an appropriate education in theregularclassroom. The SST does not provide direct instruction to the student, but rather functions as a resource and consultant to the regular classroom teacher in modifying the classroom environment for the disabled child.

     

    INDIVIDUAL/SMALL GROUP INSTRUCTION (I/SGI)

    Prerequisite: IEP Meeting

    Students eligible for I/SGI participate in the regular education program and may receive tutorial services. The tutor provides assistance with regular classwork and remedial instruction in reading, spelling, mathematics or writing.

     

    SPECIAL CLASS/LEARNING CENTER

    Prerequisite: IEP Meeting

    Students eligible for this programming receive instruction in basic academic coursework from a certified special education teacher for either some or all of their subjects.

     
    HOME INSTRUCTION
    Home instruction is an individual special education program provided to a student with a
    disability which prevents the individual from attending a regular or special education
    program even with the aid of special transportation
     

    RELATED SERVICES CLASSES

     

    EMPLOYABILITY SKILLS (1 CR.)
    Prerequisite: IEP Meeting
    Introductory course to prepare students forindependent living. Emphasis will be on
    occupational skills,survival skills and career exploration. There will also beperiodic
    contact with the Work/Study Coordinator. This courseis open to 9, 10, 11, and 12th grade
    students.
     
    WORK STUDY RELATED (1/4, 1/2, 1 OR 2 CR.)
    Prerequisite: IEP Meeting
    On-the-job experience. Credit is based on hours accumulated through employment. This
    course is open to 9, 10, 11 and 12th grade students. Course grades are based on employer
    evaluations and consultation with the Work Study Coordinator. Students receiving special
    education services are eligible for this program.